5 Regions Of The United States

The map of the United States above is divided into five regions. These are the Pacific, Frontier, Midwest, South, and Northeast areas.


The Pacific states are as follows:

The mainland Pacific states are eight hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). This is referred to as Pacific Standard Time. Meanwhile, Alaska and Hawaii have their own time zones.

These states are the Frontier region: 

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

They adhere to Mountain Standard Time (GMT-7).

The Midwest region contains twelve US states. They are as follows:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin 

There are two time zones in the region. Its easternmost section adheres to Eastern Standard Time (GMT-5). Its westernmost region observes Central Standard Time (GMT-6).


The South American region is the most populous. It is made up of 16 states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • West Virginia
  • Virginia

This region also includes the District of Columbia (DC). The White House, the official residence of the United States President, is located in the district. Massachusetts Avenue, which houses the Vice President’s mansion, is also located in DC. The western and central regions of the region adhere to Central Standard Time (GMT-6). Its easternmost region adheres to Eastern Standard Time (GMT-5).

Finally, nine states make up the Northeast region. The region is home to: 

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island 
  • Vermont

They all adhere to Eastern Standard Time (GMT-5).

This map is one of many that show how the United States is divided.


Cultural Regions of the United States

Another map depicting a divide of the United States, as seen above, deals with its cultural zones.

There are five places on the map that are current-day U.S. states, even though they appear smaller than their current statuses. These are some examples:

  • Colorado (green)
  • Texas (red)
  • Louisiana (green)
  • Florida (yellow)
  • New York (golden yellow)

The Cascadia region (dark pink) contains:

  • western Washington and Oregon
  • northwestern California

In addition, California has two distinct cultural regions: San Francisco (teal) and Socal (short for Southern California, in royal blue).

The majority of California is in the Sun Belt (dark yellow). The belt also includes:

  • most of Nevada, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico
  • extreme western Colorado and Texas

Meanwhile, the Rocky Mountains (sky blue) region is made up of the following:

  • Idaho
  • eastern Washington and Oregon
  • northwestern Montana
  • western and central Wyoming
  • the small northeastern part of California 
  • extreme northern Nevada and Utah
  • extreme northwestern Colorado

Areas covering the far north (dark green):

  • all of North Dakota and Minnesota
  • northeastern Montana and South Dakota
  • northwestern Wisconsin
  • northern Michigan
  • extreme northeastern Iowa

The Midwest (light green) region is home to:

  • all of Nebraska, Kansas, and Illinois
  • most of Oklahoma, Iowa, Missouri, and Indiana
  • western and southern parts of South Dakota
  • southeastern Wisconsin
  • southwestern Michigan
  • extreme eastern Wyoming and Colorado
  • extreme southeastern Montana
  • extreme northeastern New Mexico
  • extreme northern Texas
  • the small northwestern part of Ohio

The Rust Belt (light brown) encompasses:

  • most of Ohio and (modern-day) New York
  • northern Pennsylvania
  • southeastern Michigan
  • central and southeastern Indiana

The Appalachian region (pink) is made up of the following:

  • West Virginia
  • central and southern Pennsylvania
  • extreme eastern Kentucky and Tennessee
  • extreme western Virginia and North Carolina
  • extreme northern Georgia
  • the extreme northwestern part of South Carolina

The Deep South (orange) region includes:

  • all of Arkansas, Mississippi, and Alabama
  • most of Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina
  • southeastern Virginia
  • extreme northern Florida

The New England region (light green) include the following areas:

  • all of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island
  • most of Connecticut
  • the extreme eastern part of (modern-day) New York

Finally, the Mid-Atlantic (blue) region:

  • all of Delaware, Maryland, and the District of Columbia (DC)
  • northeastern Virginia
  • southern New Jersey
  • extreme southeastern Pennsylvania