advertisement

Head Over Heels Book Review

Head Over Heal Book Review

Head Over Heels proves that no one “writes about modern relationships with more humor or insight than Hannah Orenstein,” making it perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jasmine Guillory.

advertisement

Summary

Avery Abrams has had a difficult seven years. After working hard to make the Olympic gymnastics squad all of her life, a poor performance permanently ended her sporting career. Jasmine, her closest friend, and teammate, later achieved Olympic success and committed the ultimate betrayal by humans their emotionally abusive coach, Dimitri.

Avery, who is still hurting from her split with her football player lover, goes back to her birthplace of Massachusetts, where new coach Ryan begs her to help in coaching a young gymnast with Olympic dreams. Avery agrees despite her reservations and fears about the memories it may bring back. She shock to see Ryan and sparks flying as she returns to the gym. However, a shocking scandal in the gymnastics community has terrible consequences for the sport as well as for Avery and her longtime friend Jasmine.

Review

Avery is at her lowest moment when the Head Over Heels book begins. She has just been dumped, is aimless, moving back home with her parents. And is aware that she isn’t living up to her potential. She was a world-class gymnast who was set to make the Olympic team . When she tragically injured, changing the course of her life. She give the chance to pick up her sport of choice again when she gets home. And of course, she falls in love along the way.

advertisement
Head Over Heals Book Review

Although Head Over Heels novel marketed as a romance, it is much more than that. It also addresses topics of female friendship, sportsmanship, and finding one’s path after a devastating loss. Avery does finally find love, but she also discovers who she is. I am aware of how cheesy that sounds, but it is true. We get to watch Avery mature and gain independence while also learning to believe in herself and her decisions.

Although Nasser or Karolyi isn’t specifically addressed, fans of the sport will easily recognize the references. If Hannah Orenstein doesn’t shy away from the less positive features of gymnastics. In addition, given what I know about the sport. It paints a very accurate representation of the stresses that these young ladies must deal with. I believe it is necessary to give these athletes. Or at the very least the fictional versions of them that we elevate every four years, a human face.